Faux pas or not: forgetting the name of someone you dated?

I went out for dinner on Sunday with friends at a pizzeria downtown.  I didn’t have a good experience the first time around but they have re-branded the restaurant so we decided to try again.  I was doubly hesitant to go there as I briefly dated a girl there back in January and worse still, I could not remember her name for the life of me!  Mental lapse ok?

It didn’t end badly or anything, but come on, who really needs those awkward heart palpitations and extra sweat?

Trying to keep my cool, I breathed a sigh of relief when we didn’t get her as a server.  But lo and behold, she came by with the wine.  She served 2 of the other glasses first, and then as she looked to pour me a glass, you should’ve seen the look on her face.  I don’t know if it was a pleasant surprise, or utter shock.  Probably the latter as she almost dropped my glass.

I mumbled something about summer plans and other small talk.  My friends felt more awkward than I did.  I ended up calling my buddy and he remembered her name – so I felt a little better at least knowing her name.  After the meals were served, she sent over complimentary desserts for our table – a very classy move for a classy guy:)  Nothing like a bit of drama for a Sunday night.

So really, is it that bad that I have a very bad memory when it comes to names of girls I’ve dated?  We only went on three or four dates.  Anyone have a similar story?

One thought on “Faux pas or not: forgetting the name of someone you dated?

  1. Dear Kitchen Bachelor:
    This happens to the best of us, but try not to make a habit of it. Also, it is best not to date too many people in the neighbourhood, makes it hard to go out places!
    From: The Neighbour

Leave a Reply

